Nearly 65 university students have started as our MATES Mentors 2022, aiming to help young students understand their unique talents and skills to enhance their sense of identity and belonging within their various communities: home, school, and the wider community.

The new members come from diverse personal and academic backgrounds and have the same motivations for supporting mentees who are Year 8 and Year 13 students from schools across Auckland’s low-income communities.  

On the induction day, we welcomed our mentors with an icebreaker session and workshops. Connor Bourne, MATES Programme Manager, and our MATES Junior and MATES Senior coordinators shared their stories and experiences and discussed ways to increase understanding and knowledge of youth mentorship.

Sayali Samant, a student at the University of Auckland, studying Bachlor of Arts and Science Conjoint, majoring in Psychology, linguistics and politics, joined MATES because she found it very interesting by reading the details of MATES and knowing the support that mentors can give to the mentees. 

"The support that we can give to these mentees, I wish I had that support when I was in Year 8." 

Nasili Solo, MATES mentor, who is a Bachelor of Commerce and Law student, says, “I thought the work would be very meaningful and I want to be that support person for Year 13 and Year 8 students so they can use the skills and knowledge that I provide, and other mentors provide, to navigate their way through the years.”


Mentoring and Tutoring Education Scheme (MATES) is a mentoring programme that addresses the underachievement in the education of disadvantaged youth by working alongside schools to connect tertiary student Mentors with student Mentees at key educational transition points in Year 8 and Year 13.

MATES Junior Schools 2022: 

  • Avondale Intermediate School
  • Clendon Park School
  • Finlayson Park School
  • Mangere East Primary School
  • Papakura Intermediate School

MATES Senior Schools 2022: 

  • Aorere College
  • Auckland Girls Grammar School (AGGS)
  • Sir Edmund Hillary Collegiate
  • Southern Cross Campus
  • Waitakere College